2020 Awards for Excellence



The AAEP is proud to announce the 2020 Award Winners for Excellence in environmental protection, in the 

following fields. These awards are issued jointly with the Association of Asia Environmental Services

Companies (AAESC) and The Asia Environmental Daily (asiaenvdaily.com)





AAEP President's Award for Environmental Leadership 2020

Gurmit Singh K.S. (Malaysia) for 50 year’s of outstanding activism in protecting Malaysia’s environment.

Gurmit Singh K.S. has written books and  papers about the pressing issues, formed two prominent local environmental organizations – the Environmental Protection Society, Malaysia (EPSM)  and the Centre for Environment, Technology and Development, Malaysia – and been involved in many of the country’s major environmental initiatives. He’s spoken up fearlessly about important issues, never backing down even when his outspokenness often put him in conflict with local authorities.  

For 50  year’s of dedication to the environment, we are proud to name Gurmit Sing K.S. as the recipient of our 2019 President's Award for Environmental Leadership.


Award for Original Academic Research 2020

Rinku Devi, PhD Scholar at IIFM Bhopal, Climate Change and Forest Research (India)


Outstanding Student Award 2020

Parika Mahajan, Xavier School of Sustainability (India)


Outstanding Environmental Journalism 2020

Ernest Kao, South China Morning Post (China)


Outstanding Business Leadership 2020

Anees Nawal, Adani Group (India)





Agriculture and Fisheries 2020

Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (Indonesia)


Alternative Energy 2020

Ichikawa Kankyo Engineering Co (Japan)


Automotive / New Energy Vehicles 2020

BAIC Group (China)


Building Products / Energy Efficiency 2020

Synergy Efficiency Solutions (Indonesia)


Chemicals 2020

Eastman (Malaysia)


Clean Water Technology 2020

Ion Exchange Services (India)


Education and Research 2020

University of Queensland Australia


Environmental Cleanup / Hazardous Materials Disposal 2020

OSEI - Oil Spill Eater International, Corp (Singapore)


Food and Beverages 2020

Asia Organic 


Government and Municipalities 2020

Beijing Municipality (China) for outstanding contributions to clean air and environmental protection


Legal and Advocacy 2020

Chandler MHM (Thailand)


Marine Protection 2020

Jeff Orlowski, for his award winning documentary Chasing Coral, the result of 500+ hours underwater, looking at the effects of ocean warming and coral bleaching on these vulnerable ecosystems..


Mining and Metals 2020

POSCO (South Korea)


NGO’s and Environmental Activism 2020

Southeast Asia Wildlife Preservation Society


Oil and Gas 2020

Petronas (Malaysia)


Solar Power 2020

Jinko Solar (China)


Thermal Energy 2020

Shenhua/Guodia (China)


Waste Water Treatment and Sewage 2020

Fuji Clean Co. Ltd. (Japan)


Wind Power 2020

Suzlon (India)



 Click here for Awards Archive (2000 - 2019)